In Defense of Kalia Booker

Last night, I screamed my lungs out (in a good way) when Kalia won HoH.  Over the past few weeks, several houseguests and “fans” have discredited her 2nd place finish in the endurance competition and made fun of her weight, despite the fact that Kalia is an average-sized woman.  The most offensive attacks against Kalia take the form of racist discourse intended to be funny.  Take, for example, “fans” who compare the only black woman on this season of Big Brother to a MONKEY and mammy.  Specifically, fans commonly refer to Kalia as “Kalia Kong” and create art like this:

Image

 and

Image

Several people on Twitter responded to my criticism of this practice, claiming they, “had NO IDEA calling her ‘Kong’ might be interpreted as racist.  That’s now what I meant! Promise! I call her Kong because I think she eats too much.” Riiiiiiiiiight. If THAT is your defense, you have no sense of history and are blind to your own explicit and overt racism.  Comparing black people to monkeys is hardly a new racist rhetorical practice.  If it is NEWS to you that the comparison is racist, enroll in the nearest public high school.  Here’s just a taste of the racist analogue’s popularity and insidiousness, from 200 years ago until today (although the comparison is much, much older):

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Recently, it’s become popular for public figures to spout racist epithets and then claim ignorance.  I don’t buy it when Doug Lamborn claims that he didn’t know calling Obama a “tar baby” might be construed as racist.  Similarly, Rush Limbaugh calling Obama a “magic negro” and disgraced Mayor Dean Grose circulating this photo:

Image

…titled “No Easter Egg Hunt This Year” is 100% racist, regardless of whether or not the rhetors identity their hate speech AS hate speech.

Let me be absolutely clear, I don’t care if you dislike Kalia.  While I think it’s ridiculous to hate a reality TV show character, my aim is not to discredit why you may not like her.  Hate her until your heart shrivels up to the size of a prune.  The SOLE FOCUS of my criticism is directed at people who take cheap shots at her weight and race.  In other words, there’s a big difference between saying, “I don’t like Kalia’s gameplay and personality,” and comparing a BLACK WOMAN to a fucking MONKEY.  If you don’t like Kalia and don’t say racist shit about her, my critique isn’t directed at you.  Period.  End of story.

While we’re on the subject, 90% of the time, “pulling the race card” is what racist assholes say when they are called out on their racism.

Do not respond to me on Twitter and ask why it’s okay for me to defend Kalia against racism in one breath and then criticize Adam’s gameplay or make fun of Shelly’s clothing or hair.  If you don’t immediately see the difference between overt forms of racism and making fun somebody repeatedly screaming “90210” and “bacon,” nothing I say is going to dig you out of the hole you’ve buried yourself in.

Finally, by NO stretch of the imagination is the following person obese:

Image

It’s telling that 99% of the keyboard warriors who claim Kalia’s fat, disgusting, and obese hide behind CARTOON profile pictures and anonymity.  From my experience, people HIDE their faces and bodies for a reason.  Kalia is beautiful, intelligent, and, by US standards, an average-sized woman.  Don’t get it twisted.

Here’s just a sample of what I’m talking about:

Image

