HomoDepot

Image

After spending well over a year trying to find the perfect desk online, I decided to custom build one of my own. The work station fits perfectly against a dead-space wall in my apartment. Here’s how I did it:

  • I flipped though hundreds of pictures on the internet, poaching other people’s ideas. I then created a Frankenstein desk blueprint, comprised of all my favorite shots.
  • I purchased a few nice pieces of pine from Home Depot. They cut wood for free as long as you buy it from them. The pine pieces served as my desk top and shelves.
  • I swung by Ikea and picked up a leather placemat to go on top of my desk and a 6 shelving support items. I also purchased one Alex drawer, one Ullrik storage unit, and one Nipen red table leg. They served as the base/legs of my work station.
  • I sanded and stained my pine ebony, then finished it off with 3 coats of polyurethane.
  • I wanted the desk top to have some bulk, so I screwed together two pieces of stained and sanded pine. That provided me with a desk around 1.5″ thick.
  • I purchased an extra monitor and an awesome lamp from CB2 to give the space more character.

The work station, sans lamp and monitor, cost me around $300 to build. I completed the project in roughly two days.

