Black Nails, Black Magic

On January 6th of this year, I signed a book contract with Routledge, one of the more reputable academic presses to serve my discipline. I’ve got a year to write an autobiographical, scholarly account of my reality TV adventures. That’s just one year to have a manuscript that will come out in hard cover, paperback, and digital formats. This is a writing marathon.  I’ve got to stay focused and dedicate a few hours a day to research and writing. To that end, I’ve decided to paint my fingernails for 2017. When I was a more gender-bending kid, I used to paint my nails all the time and people would ask, “Why are your nails painted?” It always seemed like a stupid question to me. Do people really need an explanation? What was I supposed to say? “I painted my nails to save children in Ethiopia.”

IMG_2668.JPG Well, I’m going to harness that aggravation into something productive. Each time somebody asks me why I painted my nails this year, I’m going to explain that their a reminder that I need to work on my book and every time a person asks me about my nails, it’s like Jiminy Cricket reminding me to get to work. Once my manuscript is complete, I can let my nails go natural and never have to worry about somebody looking at or commenting on why my nails are black. It’s black magic, baby.

